- All snowmobilers must show proof of Insurance. Other than a person operating a snowmobile on their own property that is not a posted snowmobile trails, and other than a person operating a snowmobile on trail which the owner of the property has given written or oral consent, no person shall operate, register or maintain registration or allow another person to operate, register or maintain registration of a snowmobile in the state of Illinois unless the snowmobile is covered by a Liability Insurance Policy. The insurance policy shall be issued in amounts no less than the minimum amounts set for bodily injury or death and for destruction of property under the Section 7-203 of the Illinois Vehicle Code. No insurer other than an insurer authorized to do business in this State shall issue a policy. Proof of insurance must be displayed when asked by a law enforcement agency. Any operator of a snowmobile in violation is guilty of a petty offense and shall be required to pay a fine of no less than $500 and no more than $1,000.